Research Institute for Public Libraries
December 14-16, 2020

Overview

RIPL began in 2015 as an immersive, bootcamp-style event for public library staff to learn practical methods for gathering, analyzing, and using data for planning, management, and communicating impact. Now, after 3 national events and more than 25 regional events, it’s time for the next wave.

The RIPL 2020 virtual event will NOT be your typical online conference or webinar. Instead, it will provide the immersive learning experience that RIPL events have come to be known for, with interactive sessions that include application and discussion, and opportunities to form connections with other library staff interested in data and evaluation. So, although the event will be recorded, participants will get the most out of it if they attend the live event instead of only watching the recordings.

During the event, participants will be able to participate in four breakout sessions. To enhance the learning experience, breakout sessions will have an accompanying pre-recorded session (approximately 30-60 minutes long). These pre-recorded sessions will cover foundational material, so that we can maximize the time during the live sessions for immersive learning, discussion, and application. They will be available at least one month prior to the event. Accompanying pre-recorded sessions may be suggested application activities for participants to complete ahead of time, so that they can be discussed during the live sessions.

Participants

RIPL participants work in public libraries and are …

interested in using data for savvy and strategic planning.
looking for both inspiration and instruction in a hands-on, participatory environment.
seeking to learn about outcomes and how to measure library impact.
committed to leading their organizations in making data-based decisions.
eager to develop a peer network to support research and evaluation efforts.

Where

Online

When

December 14-16, 2020

The event will begin at 9 AM Mountain Time on December 14 and end no later than 3:30 PM Mountain Time on December 16.

How

Thanks to the generous support of the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the registration fee is $150. This event is sold out and the waitlist is full. To receive notifications about future events, please subscribe for updates in the section below. 

Program

Times listed below are Mountain.
Day 1
14 Dec 2020
Day 2
15 Dec 2020
Day 3
16 Dec 2020

Welcome & Overview

Starts @ 8:00 am PT  |  9:00 am MT  |  10:00 am CT  |  11:00 am ET

Opening Keynote: What Counts In a Crisis?

Starts @ 8:30 am PT  |  9:30 am MT  |  10:30 am CT  |  11:30 am ET

COVID-19 has disrupted the way libraries measure success. When traditional outputs don’t tell our impact, what story do we tell about our role in our communities? Is this a chance...
Read More
Melanie Huggins

Morning Break

Starts @ 9:15 am PT  |  10:15 am MT  |  11:15 am CT  |  12:15 pm ET

Breakout: The Logic Model

Starts @ 9:30 am PT  |  10:30 am MT  |  11:30 am CT  |  12:30 pm ET

The Logic Model is based on the assumption that IF the library does this, THEN that will occur. On the face of it, this logic makes perfect sense, and seems quite straightforward. So why do we...
Read More
Rebecca Jones
Evaluation planning

Breakout: Improving Operations with Data: Exploring Data Utilization Approaches to Support Decision Making

Starts @ 9:30 am PT  |  10:30 am MT  |  11:30 am CT  |  12:30 pm ET

Libraries have plenty of data: building use, program attendance, website traffic, database use, etc. They also have access to external data: census, regional planning, education, economic and business development, social...
Read More
Katina Jones
Data collection & analysis

Breakout: Citizen Data Navigator: Public Libraries’ Role in Supporting Citizen Data Use

Starts @ 9:30 am PT  |  10:30 am MT  |  11:30 am CT  |  12:30 pm ET

With many open-data initiatives, public libraries are increasingly expected to play an intermediary role for citizens to have access to data. In this session, academic researchers studying communities’ data needs...
Read More
Nate Burnard
Cate Burlington
Diana Plunkett
Mary Neuman
Jennifer Ashby
Andrea Copeland
Ayoung Yoon
Community assessment & civic data

Breakout: RIPL 101: The Evaluation Process, Part 1 (offered twice)

Starts @ 9:30 am PT  |  10:30 am MT  |  11:30 am CT  |  12:30 pm ET

This session and its companion session – RIPL 101: The Evaluation Process, Part 2 (Tuesday at 1:00 ET/10:00 PT & 3:15 ET/12:15 PT) are highly recommended if you are new...
Read More
Linda Hofschire
Sharon Morris
Data 101Evaluation planning

Breakout: Library Systems: A GIS Perspective

Starts @ 9:30 am PT  |  10:30 am MT  |  11:30 am CT  |  12:30 pm ET

A Geographic Information System provides a company or organization with many different mapping and analytical toolsets. GIS analysis and maps can help detect and show potential spatial trends in the...
Read More
Zach Schleicher
Community assessment & civic data

Breakout: Connecting the Dots: Strategic Planning, Implementation and Evaluation in Context (offered twice)

Starts @ 9:30 am PT  |  10:30 am MT  |  11:30 am CT  |  12:30 pm ET

This session will also be offered on Monday, December 14 at 2:45 ET/11:45 PT Evaluation is a key component of the strategic planning and implementation process: evaluation reveals whether we...
Read More
Alison Clarke
Kimberly Silk
Using data for management, planning, & communication

Lunch

Starts @ 10:45 am PT  |  11:45 am MT  |  12:45 pm CT  |  1:45 pm ET

Breakout: Connecting the Dots: Strategic Planning, Implementation and Evaluation in Context (offered twice)

Starts @ 11:45 am PT  |  12:45 pm MT  |  1:45 pm CT  |  2:45 pm ET

This session will also be offered Monday at 12:30 ET/9:30 PT Evaluation is a key component of the strategic planning and implementation process: evaluation reveals whether we are achieving our...
Read More
Alison Clarke
Kimberly Silk
Using data for management, planning, & communication

Breakout: Why Can’t They Just Do It, Already? Change Management Fundamentals

Starts @ 11:45 am PT  |  12:45 pm MT  |  1:45 pm CT  |  2:45 pm ET

Data collection and planning for outcomes become second nature for many of us, to the point that they seem easy. So why do public libraries struggle to grow a culture...
Read More
Lynn Hoffman
Organizational change

Breakout: Let Your Data Speak for You: The Power of Data Visualization (offered twice)

Starts @ 11:45 am PT  |  12:45 pm MT  |  1:45 pm CT  |  2:45 pm ET

This session will also be offered on Tuesday, December 15 at 1:00 ET/10:00 PT Curious about how you can use data visualization at your library? In this session, we will...
Read More
Joe Ryan
Using data for management, planning, & communication

Breakout: Another Survey?!: Making Your Next Survey Count

Starts @ 11:45 am PT  |  12:45 pm MT  |  1:45 pm CT  |  2:45 pm ET

Surveys are a fundamental tool in a library’s research and evaluation toolbox, yet many library surveys fall short of their potential for gathering useful, trustworthy information. In this session, participants...
Read More
Rebecca Teasdale
Data collection & analysis

Breakout: Diagnosing Library Process Problems Using Maps and Metrics

Starts @ 11:45 am PT  |  12:45 pm MT  |  1:45 pm CT  |  2:45 pm ET

You have long suspected that there must be a better way for your processes to work. The good news is, you’re right, and it’s called Lean. Lean is “a way to do more with less – less human...
Read More
Jane Martel
Using data for management, planning, & communication

Breakout: RIPL 101: The Evaluation Process, Part 1 (offered twice)

Starts @ 11:45 am PT  |  12:45 pm MT  |  1:45 pm CT  |  2:45 pm ET

This session and its companion session – RIPL 101: The Evaluation Process, Part 2 (Tuesday at 1:00 ET/10:00 PT & 3:15 ET/12:15 PT) are highly recommended if you are new...
Read More
Linda Hofschire
Sharon Morris
Data 101Evaluation planning

Afternoon Break

Starts @ 1:00 pm PT  |  2:00 pm MT  |  3:00 pm CT  |  4:00 pm ET

General Session: Using data to answer the question: where are we going and how will we know if we’re getting there?

Starts @ 1:15 pm PT  |  2:15 pm MT  |  3:15 pm CT  |  4:15 pm ET

Selecting the right metrics for your organization is both art and science. What are the various uses and purposes for metrics? How does one choose and what should be considered?...
Read More
Alison Clarke
Lisa Fraser
Katina Jones
Jane Martel

Wrap-Up

Starts @ 2:15 pm PT  |  3:15 pm MT  |  4:15 pm CT  |  5:15 pm ET

Welcome & Application Activity

Starts @ 8:00 am PT  |  9:00 am MT  |  10:00 am CT  |  11:00 am ET

Nothing For Us, Without Us: Getting Started with Community Engagement and Culturally-Responsive Evaluation

Starts @ 8:30 am PT  |  9:30 am MT  |  10:30 am CT  |  11:30 am ET

Public libraries serve increasingly diverse stakeholders, each with unique interests, needs and strengths.  Using the tools from community engagement and culturally responsive and equitable evaluation (CREE), you can help create a...
Read More
LaShaune P. Johnson, PhD

Morning Break

Starts @ 9:45 am PT  |  10:45 am MT  |  11:45 am CT  |  12:45 pm ET

Breakout: Listening Deeper: Interview and Focus Group Strategies to Gain New Understanding

Starts @ 10:00 am PT  |  11:00 am MT  |  12:00 pm CT  |  1:00 pm ET

Interviews and focus groups provide high-touch ways to move past awareness and get to understanding of your audience. After a brief discussion of when interviews or focus groups can be...
Read More
Sharon Morris
Data collection & analysis

Breakout: Your Data Toolbox: Selecting Vendor and Software Options for Your Data Needs

Starts @ 10:00 am PT  |  11:00 am MT  |  12:00 pm CT  |  1:00 pm ET

How do you know what software and vendor tools to use for your data analysis and management needs? With the variety of options available, what criteria should you use to...
Read More
Lisa Fraser
Lindsay Hanson
Katina Jones
Zeth Lietzau
Using data for management, planning, & communication

Breakout: RIPL 101: The Evaluation Process, Part 2 (offered twice)

Starts @ 10:00 am PT  |  11:00 am MT  |  12:00 pm CT  |  1:00 pm ET

This session and its companion session – RIPL 101: The Evaluation Process, Part 1 (Monday at 12:30 ET/9:30 PT & 2:45 ET/11:45 PT) are highly recommended if you are new to...
Read More
Linda Hofschire
Rochelle Logan
Data 101Evaluation planning

Breakout: Leveraging Federal Data to Piece Together the Program Planning Puzzle

Starts @ 10:00 am PT  |  11:00 am MT  |  12:00 pm CT  |  1:00 pm ET

Program attendance at libraries has skyrocketed over the last 10 years. We also know that programs are a vital way to engage patrons and the community about a variety of...
Read More
Marisa Pelczar
Lisa M. Frehill
Data collection & analysis

Breakout: Can you hear me now? Data for Stakeholders (offered twice)

Starts @ 10:00 am PT  |  11:00 am MT  |  12:00 pm CT  |  1:00 pm ET

This session will also be offered on Tuesday, December 15 at 3:15 ET/12:15 PT Libraries have six critical stakeholder groups: board, funders (usually the city or local government), residents (who...
Read More
Rebecca Jones
Using data for management, planning, & communication

Breakout: Let Your Data Speak for You: The Power of Data Visualization (offered twice)

Starts @ 10:00 am PT  |  11:00 am MT  |  12:00 pm CT  |  1:00 pm ET

This session will also be offered on Monday, December 14 at 2:45 ET/11:45 PT Curious about how you can use data visualization at your library? In this session, we will...
Read More
Joe Ryan
Using data for management, planning, & communication

Lunch

Starts @ 11:15 am PT  |  12:15 pm MT  |  1:15 pm CT  |  2:15 pm ET

Breakout: A Prescription for Achieving Faster, Better, and Cheaper Library Processes

Starts @ 12:15 pm PT  |  1:15 pm MT  |  2:15 pm CT  |  3:15 pm ET

Though not required, ideally, participants of this breakout session will have also attended the Diagnosing Library Process Problems Using Maps and Metrics breakout session, offered on Monday at 2:45 ET/11:45 PT.  Attending both sessions gives attendees...
Read More
Jane Martel
Using data for management, planning, & communication

Breakout: Observations: Data Hiding in Plain Sight

Starts @ 12:15 pm PT  |  1:15 pm MT  |  2:15 pm CT  |  3:15 pm ET

Libraries use structured observations to gather data about patrons’ behavior, words, and interactions—such as how patrons navigate the library or children’s level of engagement during a program. During the pre-recorded...
Read More
Alison Clarke
Katie Fox
Rebecca Teasdale
Data collection & analysis

Breakout: Discovering the Story of Your Community: How to Conduct a Well-Rounded Community Assessment

Starts @ 12:15 pm PT  |  1:15 pm MT  |  2:15 pm CT  |  3:15 pm ET

Public library staff are expected to—and want to—serve their communities. Learning what the community needs is challenging. And how do we define “community” in the first place? This breakout session...
Read More
Lisa Fraser
Community assessment & civic data

Breakout: Can you hear me now? Data for Stakeholders (offered twice)

Starts @ 12:15 pm PT  |  1:15 pm MT  |  2:15 pm CT  |  3:15 pm ET

This session will also be offered on Tuesday, December 15 at 1:00 ET/10:00 PT Libraries have six critical stakeholder groups: board, funders (usually the city or local government), residents (who...
Read More
Rebecca Jones
Using data for management, planning, & communication

Breakout: Inclusive Data and Community Engagement: New Roles for Libraries to Shape Knowledge Creation and Use

Starts @ 12:15 pm PT  |  1:15 pm MT  |  2:15 pm CT  |  3:15 pm ET

With the growing importance placed on data to drive policy, programs, and decision-making, the voices of community members the data is intended to represent become even more vital. There continue...
Read More
Maria Garrido
Chris Rothschild
Community assessment & civic data

Breakout: RIPL 101: The Evaluation Process, Part 2 (offered twice)

Starts @ 12:15 pm PT  |  1:15 pm MT  |  2:15 pm CT  |  3:15 pm ET

This session and its companion session – RIPL 101: The Evaluation Process, Part 1 (Monday at 12:30 ET/9:30 PT & 2:45 ET/11:45 PT) are highly recommended if you are new...
Read More
Linda Hofschire
Rochelle Logan
Data 101Evaluation planning

Afternoon Break

Starts @ 1:30 pm PT  |  2:30 pm MT  |  3:30 pm CT  |  4:30 pm ET

Unconference

Starts @ 1:45 pm PT  |  2:45 pm MT  |  3:45 pm CT  |  4:45 pm ET

Welcome & Application Activity

Starts @ 8:00 am PT  |  9:00 am MT  |  10:00 am CT  |  11:00 am ET

General Session: Data Geeks Disperse! Developing a Culture of Evaluation

Starts @ 8:30 am PT  |  9:30 am MT  |  10:30 am CT  |  11:30 am ET

One of the biggest challenges about an event like RIPL—where you are sharing an immersive learning experience with people who already care about evaluation—is going back to your home organization....
Read More
Sarah Sawicki
Lynn Hoffman
Lindsay Hanson
Zeth Lietzau

Break

Starts @ 9:45 am PT  |  10:45 am MT  |  11:45 am CT  |  12:45 pm ET

The Data Escape Room & Lunch

Starts @ 10:00 am PT  |  11:00 am MT  |  12:00 pm CT  |  1:00 pm ET

Closing Keynote: Making Meaning: Connecting the Dots from Data to Decision-Making

Starts @ 12:00 pm PT  |  1:00 pm MT  |  2:00 pm CT  |  3:00 pm ET

Library workers are awash in data. But as Clifford Stoll said, “Data is not information, information is not knowledge, knowledge is not understanding, and understanding is not wisdom.” What principles...
Read More
Jamie LaRue

Wrap-Up

Starts @ 1:00 pm PT  |  2:00 pm MT  |  3:00 pm CT  |  4:00 pm ET

Keynotes

Melanie Huggins

Executive Director, Richland Library

Jamie LaRue

CEO, LaRue and Associates

Speakers

Jennifer Ashby

Director, Asotin County Library

Cate Burlington

Lead Technology Specialist, Providence Public Library

Nate Burnard

Main Library Manager, Allen County Public Library

Alison Clarke

Coordinator, Performance Measures & Data, Brampton Library

Andrea Copeland

Associate Professor, Indiana University School of Informatics and Computing

Katie Fox

Research Analyst for the Library Research Service

Lisa Fraser

Organizational Performance Project Manager, King County Library System

Lisa M. Frehill

Senior Statistician, IMLS

Maria Garrido

Principal Research Scientist, University of Washington’s Information School

Lindsay Hanson

Library Manager, Sno-Isle Libraries

Lynn Hoffman

Director of Operations, Somerset County Library System

Linda Hofschire

Director, Library Research Service

LaShaune P. Johnson, PhD

Associate Professor, Creighton University

Rebecca Jones

Managing Partner, Dysart & Jones Associates

Katina Jones

Statistical Research Analyst at Mid-Continent Public Library

Zeth Lietzau

Director, Collections, Technology, and Strategy, Denver Public Library

Rochelle Logan

Research Consultant and Trainer

Jane Martel

Senior Project Manager, Arapahoe Library District

Sharon Morris

Director of Library Development, Colorado State Library

Mary Neuman

Assistant Director/Youth Services Librarian, Asotin County Library

Marisa Pelczar

Program Analyst, Institute of Museum and Library Services

Diana Plunkett

Manager of Strategic Initiatives, Brooklyn Public Library

Chris Rothschild

Senior Research Scientist, University of Washington

Joe Ryan

Manager, IT Infrastructure and Architecture, EDUCAUSE

Sarah Sawicki

Planning and Projects Director, Richland Library

Zach Schleicher

GIS Analyst, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville

Kimberly Silk

Strategic Planning & Engagement Librarian, Hamilton Public Library

Rebecca Teasdale

Principal, Rebecca Teasdale & Associates

Ayoung Yoon

Assistant Professor, Indiana University School of Informatics and Computing

Sponsors